Government Relations

Government Relations Legislative Update

Government Relations Legislative Update

Updates on state and federal issues relating to the UW System.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Upcoming Legislative Committee Meetings

The Joint Committee on Employment Relations (JCOER) will be meeting on Wednesday, April 23, to consider a number of items including proposed personnel systems for UW System and for UW-Madison. For further information, please see the public hearing notice.


On Thursday, April 24, the Joint Committee on Audit will hold a public hearing. Among the agenda items is the consideration of UW System's Proposed Methodology for Calculating Program Revenue Balances and Reserves required by 2013 Wisconsin Act 20. For further details, please refer to the hearing notice.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

List of Departing Legislators Continues to Grow

Over the weekend, Assembly members Duey Stroebel (R-Saukville) and Chad Weininger (R-Green Bay), as well as Senator Michael Ellis (R-Neenah) all announced they would not be running for re-election to the state legislature in 2014.

Stroebel was first elected in 2011 and is leaving the Assembly to run for Congress. Weininger, first elected to the Assembly in 2010, is leaving for a position with Brown County. Ellis, the Senate President, has served in the Senate since 1982; he is retiring to spend more time with family.

For 2014, the announced departures include 20 members leaving the Assembly and 5 leaving the Senate.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Three More Representatives to Depart the Legislature

This past week, three Assembly members- Representatives Erik Severson (R-Osceola), Donald Pridemore (R-Erin), and Dean Kaufert (R-Neenah)- added their names to a growing list of legislators not running for re-election in 2014.

Severson, chair of the Assembly Health Committee, was first elected in 2010. Pridemore, who chairs the Assembly Urban Education Committee, was first elected in 2004. Kaufert, first elected in 1990, is a former co-chair of the Joint Finance Committee and is leaving following his election this month as Mayor of Neenah. For more information see:

Friday, April 4, 2014

Two More Legislators Announce Plans to Step Down

This week, Representative Steve Kestell (R-Elkhart Lake) and Representative Sandy Pasch (D-Shorewood) announced they would not run for re-election in 2014. Kestell, the current Chair of the Assembly Education Committee, was first elected in 1998. Pasch, the Assembly's Assistant Minority Leader, was first elected in 2008. See Pasch's announcement here.  Kestell and Pasch join 14 other Assembly incumbents who are not seeking re-election this fall to the 99-member chamber.


State Senate Confirms Regent Appointments

On Tuesday, the Senate voted unanimously (33-0) to approve the Governor's four new Regent appointments: José Delgado, Eve Hall, Anicka Purath, and Nicolas Harsy.