Government Relations

Government Relations Legislative Update

Government Relations Legislative Update

Updates on state and federal issues relating to the UW System.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

July 12 Legislative Primary Election Results

48th Assembly District Primary
Chris Taylor (D-Madison) won a six-person primary race to fill the open seat created when former State Representative Joe Parisi was elected Dane County Executive in April. (see results below) Taylor is unopposed in the August 9 general election.

X Chris Taylor, D-Madison - 31%
Vicky Selkowe, D-Madison - 23%
Fred Arnold, D-Madison - 14%
Andy Heidt, D-Madison - 11%
Bethany Ordaz, D-Madison - 11%
David de Felice, D-Madison - 10%
100 percent reporting

Legislative Recall Primaries
Six Democratic recall primaries were held yesterday as well. The winning candidates now advance to an August 9 general election where they will face six incumbent Republicans Senators. See unofficial results below X=Winner

2nd Senate District- Sen. Robert Cowles (R) Incumbent
X Nancy Nusbaum, De Pere - 65%
Otto Junkermann, Green Bay - 35%

8th Senate District- Sen. Alberta Darling (R) Incumbent
X Rep. Sandy Pasch, D-Whitefish Bay - 65%
Gladys Huber, Mequon - 35%

10th Senate District- Sen. Sheila Harsdorf (R) Incumbent
X Shelly Moore, River Falls - 55%
Isaac Weix, Menomonie - 45%

14th Senate District- Sen. Luther Olsen (R) Incumbent
X Rep. Fred Clark, D-Baraboo - 67%
Rol Church, Wautoma - 33%

18th Senate District- Sen. Randy Hopper (R) Incumbent
X Jessica King, Oshkosh - 69%
John Buckstaff, Oshkosh - 31%

32nd Senate District- Sen. Dan Kapanke (R) Incumbent
X Rep. Jennifer Shilling, D-La Crosse - 70%
James Smith, La Crosse - 30%

On July 19, two Republican recall primaries are scheduled in the 12th and 22nd Senate Districts. The respective primary winners will face Democratic incumbent Senators Jim Holperin (D-12) and Bob Wirch (D-22) in an August 16 general election.

Also on July 19, the first general recall election of the summer will be held in the 30th Senate District between Democratic incumbent Dave Hansen (D-Green Bay) and challenger David VanderLeest (R-Green Bay).