Government Relations

Government Relations Legislative Update

Government Relations Legislative Update

Updates on state and federal issues relating to the UW System.

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Federal Update for Thursday, August 11

Over the last three days, the individuals responsible for appointing the 12 members of the "Super Committee" on deficit reduction—the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House and the Majority and Minority Leaders in the Senate—all have made their selections public.

Earlier this week, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) appointed the following Democrats:
Patty Murray (WA), John Kerry (MA), Max Baucus (MT).

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) announced his choices yesterday:
Rob Portman (OH), Pat Toomey (PA), Jon Kyl (AZ).

Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) also appointed the following Republicans yesterday:
Jeb Hensarling (TX), Dave Camp (MI), Fred Upton (MI).

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) completed the roster by tapping the following Democrats today:
James Clyburn (SC), Xavier Becerra (CA), Chris Van Hollen (MD).

Murray and Hensarling will serve as the co-chairs of the committee.

(APLU and the UW System Office of Federal Relations contributed to this report.)