Government Relations

Government Relations Legislative Update

Government Relations Legislative Update

Updates on state and federal issues relating to the UW System.

Monday, December 3, 2012

Senate Committees and Appointments Announced

Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald recently announced the committees for the upcoming 2013-14 session as well as his appointees to those committees.  Among the committees created was the Senate Committee on Universities and Technical Colleges, which will be chaired by Senator Sheila Harsdorf (R-River Falls). Senators Dale Schultz (R-Richland Center) and Rick Gudex (R-Fond Du Lac) were appointed as members.  See Senator Fitzgerald's announcement and Committee list.

Republican Leaders Complete JFC Appointments

Assembly Speaker Robin Vos announced his remaining three appointments to the Joint Finance Committee. Representatives John Klenke (R-Green Bay), Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield), and Dean Knudson (R-Hudson) were all named to the committee, which will be chaired by Representative John Nygren (R-Marinette).  They join Representatives Pat Strachota and Dan LeMahieu who were announced previously. Assembly Minority leader Peter Barca has not yet announced his appointments.
On the Senate side, Senate Majority Leader Fitzgerald announced the appointment of Senators Sheila Harsdorf, Glenn Grothman (R-West Bend), Joe Leibham (R-Sheboygan), Luther Olsen (R-Ripon) and Mary Lazich (R-New Berlin). The Joint Finance Committee will be co-chaired by Senator Alberta Darling (R-River Hills).  Senate Minority Leader Chris Larson previously named Senators Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse) and Bob Wirch (Pleasant Prairie) to the panel.